Longhorns???

Help Support CattleToday:

TxLongHorn920

Reaction score
Hey yall

Im new to this thing...so howdy
im currently studyin in ag and am plannin on a cattle farm in oklahoma with my family... Ive been researchin a lot on the texas longhorn lately and was wonderin if anybody out there runs em... or even just a little on the side. If so, do yall find em efficient? I know theyre a little leaner and wont hold the wait like the traditionals... But dont they do well in the fertility and disease resistance department? My family runs mostly mixed angus with some brahman but Ive become greatly interested in the makeup of the longhorn...just wanted to hear some expert opinions...
thanks

There are a couple of Longhorn breeders on these boards with some very impressive cattle, who should be able to give you some info.

As far as them being as you said "leaner and not hold the weight like the traditionals", as far as I can figure out, there seems to be two 'strains' of longhorn, a show type versus a traditional or horn type. Take a look at Ryans animals compared to the other Longhorns posted here. They tend to have muscle patterns similar to more traditional breeds, and are certainly long and thick.

Good luck with it :D

Hi! Welcome to the board!

Yes, there are different "thrusts" from breeders of longhorns. The historic, traditional longhorn that roamed Texas and areas of the USA several hundred years ago were "lean, mean, and wild."

HOWEVER, in recent times, they have been bred to have better bodies, mild temperaments, etc., etc.