Longhorn vs Angus vs cross

Help Support CattleToday:

obsidian73

Reaction score
Hey All a newbie here,

I just got some property and have around 4 acres to have some cattle on. Right now I am hoping to have fencing up by the end of next month. First I am wondering if there is a best time to get my cows in should I do it this fall or wait till next year? Also I am debating on what breed to get. First of all these would be beef cows just for my family at this point and if it works out to sell one or a half if the need arises. I have been looking at the longhorn as they say the quality of meat is higher but they have a good bit less hanging weight. It seems around here that the Angus/Longhorn cross is somewhat popular. For those that have raised Longhorns for just family meat what have been your pros & cons?

Any breed can eat good, but the only people that will tell you longhorn have higher quality meat than a beef animal are those selling longhorns.

With just 4 acres you'd be better off buying a couple of good weaned and vaccinated steers every spring and run them til winter and butcher. Sell one keep one to eat. You won't be able to run much as far as cows on 4 acres.

As far as the longhorns go, a purebred would be fine if you like really lean meat. I've got some longhorn x black baldy that I'm going to finish out next year so I'll be able to tell you more then. I've been told that they're good eating just don't get as big and don't gain as efficient, we shall see. I don't have much in them so won't hurt me to experiment.

obsidian73 said:
Hey All a newbie here,