Limousin Calf

Help Support CattleToday:

HOSS

Reaction score
Hello all. I am new to this board. I just joined today. I have a question that I am hoping someone here can help me with. Let me preface by saying that I am new to raising cattle. I grew up raising hogs. I have a 150 to 175 lb. Limousin steer that I bought at the sale barn one week ago. At first he seemed fine but then he started coughing and moving about real slow and would stand with his head down and his eyes half closed for several minutes at a time. He seems lethargic. He also developed a runny nose. He has an appetite, grazes and eats grain etc. but he is very slow in doing so. I done some research on this board and the web and he seems to have all of the symptoms of BRSV with the exception of that he is not drooling at the mouth. I dropped by our local livestock vet and he gave me a 5cc shot of Mycotil (thanks to this board I learned that this stuff is very dangerous to humans and was very carefull administering the shot) and he also gave me a 3cc shot of Ivermectin (for worms) and Vitamin B12. I administered the shots today at about noon. I guess my question is for those with experience in this arena. How long does the drugs take until a difference is seen and is there anything else that I can do to help this little guy take off? Thanks.

Welcome to the boards. It sound as if your on the right track. A lot of the ones you get from the salebarn will get sick. Its best to do as you did. Hit em fast and hard before its to late. As far as the mycotil I can't help you much as I don't use it. I would think you should see results in as little as tomorrow. Others here came be of futher assistance with it. A lot of folks here are firm believers in it.