Land Prices??? 1031's

Help Support CattleToday:

ronr

Reaction score
I was wondering how high the Land prices are in your part of the Country??? Here in Iowa they are an all time high. I'm a 35 year old Farmer. I'm Paying on two Farms and I am looking for a third. I have two issue's to express. The 1031 exchange is killing us young guys. Outside Investors are playing with these Farms like they are Stocks. Let me tell you My Farm is not a Stock. I'm not going to "Short" my Farm. I'm curious to see what happens when the new Farm Bill Comes out.

I value your imput. Thanks!!!

Ron

Ron, land prices are sky rocketing everywhere. It seems too many folks have way too much money and just go around buying up stuff. I really can't offer any good advice except that they are no making anymore land. When it is gone, it's gone.

High here. 8 years ago we bought some land for $1500 an acre. Had to finance while we sold another place, and the bank would only go $1400 based on appraisal. Neighbor just sold 80 for $2200 an acre. This is rocky, hilly (for Indiana) stuff that is marginal crop ground. The black stuff to the west of us is in the $4000 range these days.

Flaboy...They are not making anymore land.... true. Something to keep in mind. The is a LOT of land in my County that is in the ten yr. program. The Goverment has already said they will not renew 2/3's of the contracts for another 10 yrs. When that happens...suddenly there will be a lot more land out there.

ronr":3j5imhpi said:
Flaboy...They are not making anymore land.... true. Something to keep in mind. The is a LOT of land in my County that is in the ten yr. program. The Goverment has already said they will not renew 2/3's of the contracts for another 10 yrs. When that happens...suddenly there will be a lot more land out there.