Know about Angus? I guess you do Sir!

Help Support CattleToday:

Thanks for the great replies. Remember, I am just starting out and doing so, slowly.

I am not starting it as my livelyhood. But instead to learn about it and enjoy the tax benefits of my land being taxed as agricultural land. In the future I may do more with cattle but I realize I have an awful lot to learn. I am almost getting obsessed with learning all about the ins and outs of cattle. I stay up late at night reading on the internet and reading the last three months issues of Florida Cattlemans magazine cover to cover. :shock:

I have several more parcels of land and am slowly looking for cows for those parcels. Leaning toward some longhorns for one parcel and some more black cows for another one. My CH says "I will help you choose the types of cows for those based on the soil and vegetations of those particular parcels." Sounds smart to me. He is trying to explain to me that you just do not say I want this breed or that breed and then put them on land that will not suite them, If you do, he says, I will have to spend a lot of money on feed rather than mostly using the existing pasture grasses.

Today when I was with my cow hand, he and I looked at the papers together. The bull is 8.5 yrs old. I am not sure if his age is the reason but the cowhand today said " in the spring we will sell this bull and get you a nice "Charlois" to put on these black cows."

jscunn":3lbw5std said:
Ricker,
Wow Dynamo is OLDDDDD (Born in the 1970s I think). Not anything wrong with that though.