Killed vaccine question

Help Support CattleToday:

Ohrmundt Simmentals

Reaction score
I have been using triangle 10 for about 8 or 9 years and have had now complaints. I like the flexibility of a killed vaccine and would like to continue using one. Last and again this year it seems basically impossible to get tri 10 from anywhere. My question is. If i go with another killed vaccine will I still need boost in 2-3 with the new vaccine even though these animals have all had tri 10 within the last 12 months. Thoughts or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Brother ran into something similar when he couldnt find the 5 way mlv & Vib/Lepto he had been using on his cows. Vet said he can use another mlv without having to re booster as long as listed to cover same things on label.

That seems wrong to me would think vaccines might provide protection differently even if for same thing.

Chris. I checked Jeffers and Valley Vet. They no longer market Triangle 10 (killed virus). Triangle vaccine is manufactured by BOEHRINGER INGELHEIM VETMEDICA, INC. You should contact them. I use MLV vaccines, but I have wondered about the same issue; whether you need to establish the level of immunity that you get with the initial vaccination exposure or whether you just need to booster. I follow the label instructions on the vaccine I am switching to in order to establish the optimum level of immunity.

Yeah I asked at fleet farm today. They said that sometimes the fda goes in and inspects and shuts down productions. Then when they ramp back up it's people drugs first.

A bit of background on vaccines....

It takes about two weeks (from 10 to 21 days if I recall) for the immune response to kick in upon exposure to a foreign bug. On average, the response is about 65% (this is in theory based on statistics, in practice it is different and depends on the type of vaccine). A second exposure will boost this response to about 95% (and a third to 99%, again this is on paper)