I've been losing money

Help Support CattleToday:

cypressfarms

Reaction score
I have been supplying two local nursing homes with beef for a few years now. I also sell calves to individual people as well, normally through word of mouth. I usually make more net profit (at least $100 - but usually more) per calf doing this. Any surplus calves go to the stockyard.

This morning I got a call from a woman who asked a ton of questions about what I do (She had heard about me from a mutual friend). Seems she had read that "grass fed" beef is better for her family years back, and insists on it. I was in a good mood and invited her over. She came out and I showed her what I did (the horse ride for her kids helped :) ) So I asked her to define "grass fed" or me. She said that any animal that grazes on natural grasses or feed is grass fed; in addition no growth hormones or antibiotics can be used. I asked her how much she normally paid for "grass fed" and my jaw dropped. She's been driving over an hour to get "grass fed" beef for the last 5 years or so. (This woman knows NOTHING about raising cattle themselves, but she's definitely done her homework on grass fed. It dawned on me that all of my calves are grass fed by her definition. We quickly made a deal for a calf, then I started thinking (always dangerous), many of us have grass fed calves! We could get in on this premium. If we do have a sick calf requiring antibiotic treatment, then said calf would go to the stockyard. Only calves without health issues would be kept as grass fed. I've since found that normal vaccines and wormers do NOT disqualify a calf from being "grass fed".