Introducing new cows

Help Support CattleToday:

kid

Reaction score
I have (2) 2 year old highland heifers that I've had for about 1 1/2 years now and they have been the only animal in our pasture. I want to get another one or two. My question is, my pasture is just 8 acres, all in one fenced in area...Im scared to death if I bring something strange into the pasture the heifers I have now will KILL the new ones. How can I safely do this. I am also thinking about borrowing a bull to breed mine, but Im scared they will Kill him too.
In case you cant tell, I am new to all of this. Any advice would be great.

We have a pole shed with a pen in it. The pen has a gate that opens to the pasture. The cattle have access in or out. Anyhow, if we bring something home, it stays in that pens for about 3 days. Then it can see the other cattle, get to know them through the gate, it can see the pasture, gives it plenty of time to calm down from transport. It has always worked very well. You leave them in there much longer than 3 days and they are going to act a little stupid when they get out. I would advise against just releasing into the pasture. You are right to be concerned about that. Do you have any type of corral?

We too put the new animal in the pen for about 4 days so the other cows can "get to know them" but Angie has it spot on.....

We unload new stock directly into to the pasture with existing herd; we haven't experienced any problems doing so thus far.

I do not worry about new animals getting hurt by established herd, I worry about them being all het up with the move and new environment and going through fences. Is that much more difficult to round up an animal when no place is home to them.

Introducing new cows to a herd is not like introducing a new baboon to a group of primates in a zoo. It really isn't that big a deal to put strange cows together. Sure, they'll run around the pasture and butt heads, but they're not going to kill each other.