Introducing new cattle to existing herd

Help Support CattleToday:

bncsimps

Reaction score
Hello everyone....I'm new at this so forgive me. I recently purchased 5 bred cows and 2 hiefers; they are due to be delivered to the farm in a few days. Should I quaranteen them prior to turn them out to pasture with the rest of the herd? If so, how long?

YES!
first you don't know if they are sick and will give your old cows an illness
second - don't ever move a cow and turn it into a pasture
they don't know where home is and if (make that when) they should get scared and go thru a fence, they won't know how to get back home
put the new cows in a pen for a few days, let them get used to the new place and to you - then turn them into their new home after they are calm

Ditto!!

Always quarantine new arrivals (even if you KNOW they came from a clean herd). Acclimate new ones to your facility and across the fence to your others (if you have others).

If you don't have 100% assurance (via records and health certificate) your new ones are current on vaccinations and de-worming, give them the full schedule while they are in quarantine.

Before you turn any out to a pasture, ensure your pasture fences are in good condition...nothing like trying to round up the newbies who are trotting back "home" from whereever they came from...it has happened...

bncsimps":2c9d5oni said:
Hello everyone....I'm new at this so forgive me. I recently purchased 5 bred cows and 2 hiefers; they are due to be delivered to the farm in a few days. Should I quaranteen them prior to turn them out to pasture with the rest of the herd? If so, how long?

Here's my method:
Step 1 Keep fences in very good condition
Step 2 Buy calm animals
Step 3 Drive trailer near other animals in the pasture;
open trailer and tell them to introduce themselves.

I may just be lucky but it's worked for me for over 15 yrs.

Cowdirt":1ywll2xi said:
bncsimps":1ywll2xi said:

Here's my method:
Step 1 Keep fences in very good condition