Interested in Ranching/Farming

Help Support CattleToday:

nnmzharmon

Reaction score
My wife and I have a dream of running and operating a farm within the next 10 years. We have 2 young children and one on the way. At this point I am beginning research into what the cost will be and how realistic this whole thing is. I have limited experience in this area. My parents raise and sell holstien steers but only 4/5 at a time. I am starting from ground zero, no money, no land, and no cows. I work at a job where I could put about $9,000 into this a year, so not a lot. My thought is to start by finding some land to lease, close to home, and raising 5/6 steers and selling them a year from now and trying to expand on that the second year. the only debt I have is some student loans and a small car payment. I am 24 years old, the market is starving for young ranchers and I want to jump on that band wagon. I am not interested in being told this is a pipe dream move on, I need to be told where to go from here. Should I save, should I spend?

Thanks,
Nick

I would save a little while longer. If you want to make it work it will, I have. Where are you located? It makes a difference on what will work.

"I am starting from ground zero, no money, no land, and no cows."
Some of the most wealthy men in the world started out the same way. Use your noggin. Think about all the available human diet plans. They all have a claim of success, but the seemingly overlooked simplified conjuncture is that calories injested must be less than calories burned. Simple. Do the math. I agree with denvermartin.... save a bit longer. Talk to neighbors. Keep your eyes peeled for land to lease close to home, and be prepared to maintain it. Then buy a twosome or threesome feeders and have fun. If you find it to be worth your while, the sky is the limit. Good luck :tiphat:
If you don't want to listen to my advise, look up alisonb. She's a go-getter with many words of wisdom :D