Im new and needing some advice!

Help Support CattleToday:

ebauer85

Reaction score
I am new to all the cattle raising and I am really considering about starting my own little herd. I am not really looking to make a big profit on the cattle at the moment. Maybe sometime in the future I will consider it. But I wont be scared to make some money if it is there.I dont know whether to start with a couplecalves or what. I live in southern Indiana and I have talked with several farmers and their choice of cattle is usually Angus. I own around 4 acres of already fenced in area and I am needing some advice on what to start with, how to maintain my pasture, what age and size to buy the calves at and what is the best way to feed the cattle (Pasture fed or grain fed). I will not be in a big hurry to sell the cattle so I dont know if it is even necessary to even put them on grain. Like I said, I would just like some advice on the scenario I have and what will benefit me the most.
Thanks

Keep in mind that if you start this time of the year what ever you start with will need hay and water . Also some type of shelter or windbreak . I would guess maybe three feeder calves on 4 acres would be your limit if feeding grass only . Quality of pasture and weather will make a difference as to the amount you raise . good luck with your project .

I wasnt really gonna start till the spring in the first place really. I have a couple farmers that I have talked to that would let me buy some calves off of. When would be a good time of year to buy. Is Feb or March to early due to cold weather?