I'm a beginner...

Help Support CattleToday:

I would no till in whatever I wanted planted. That is if the existing stuff is thin enough that you could get the new stuff to take.

The Bermuda grass is so thick in the summer, late fall that it will probably drown out what I try to drill. The elbon I drilled year before last did good in thin areas, and poor in areas where the Bermuda was at. The Bermuda turns brown and lays over first frost usually in Nov. and the cows wont hardly eat it and now it is delaying my grass to come on. The areas I have fescue would be better suited to drill, but they stay pretty wet and I stock pile the fescue and graze it heavily once the Bermuda dies off and would be worried what I planted in the fescue would not have a chance.
If I don't use my arena for a while, a pretty good stand of clover and Bermuda come back, but so does all the ''goat'' weed and thistle. My pasture is probably, half fescue, half summer grass. What do you think?

dun":j2l54dgn said:
Any time you disturb the surface you will expose more weed seeds. But other seeds too if they are hardy enough to sit for years without germinating. With any luck the grasses will be thick enough that the weeds won;t see daylight. But if that's the case neither will the seeds you broadcast.

I agree with that Dun but also more clover and rye seed get exposed to ground contact
and germinate in the fall.
Had to spray more the first couple of years.
This is a balancing act learning what the balance is.
I couldn't give you the first bit of advice on fescue as the only time I have ever
seen was in a picture.
Gus my best advice is do a test plot or two to find out what works best and build your
program around that.
Every place has some unique challenges that only you can fight win or loose.