I think this is Founder with pics please help?

Help Support CattleToday:

hicky214

Reaction score
So I went to the check the cows this evening and I found the pictures below on a great mama cow. She has the best heifer in the bunch. I have been giving her some grain not a lot but this could be the cause. But I am a newbie. What should I do in this case? Does it require a vet? If not please explain. I do not want this getting worse I want it fixed and treated asap. Also will this condition come back typically or no? I was going to retain her heifer so Im not sure if it is genetic. I check cows twice a day and don't see that I could have missed this for long. So I know its new to her. Sorry for all the questions just want all to be healthy.
photo_42.jpg

photo_33.jpg

Maybe founder but I thinkprobably not. She needs the hoof trimed. It will take someone that knows how and maybe a tilt table. If there are any dairys in your area ask some of them who does theirs.

Some of the vets have tilt tables also. So as Kenny said, check with your dairy's and vets.
Is she lame on it? Founder is very painful and she would barely be able to walk on it.
From the picture I can not tell, but has the hoof wall separated from the sole of the foot??

From your photos, she seems to be bearing weight pretty well. Founder is aka laminitis which is an inflammation of inner parts of the foot. This is a very painful disease and animals affected by this will usually show a noticeable lameness (or limp).

I agree with Kenny Thomas, it looks like corkscrew hoof and needs a trim. This problem (corkscrew) does tend to be recurrent and is genetic. She will most probably need regular hoof trimming.