I need some help with breeding

Help Support CattleToday:

hog_n_dos

Reaction score
I am pretty new to the hole having cows thing and I am having trouble finding some one to breed my cow.

I have a herford breeder and I don't really want to deal with a bull (mine or someone elses) . I don't have a shoot and I am having a problem with the 3 mo. old calf getting out of the field through the hot wire.

anyway, I am trying to find someone in my area that does artificial insemination for cows. I can only find people in texas. That really doesn't help me! so if anyone knows someone in puyallup or graham washington, I would appreciate the help. thanks

I have been trying for about 5 weeks to find someone and have had no luck! the large animal vets around here don't do that . I have asked the feed stores if they know someone and on all counts I can up with nothing!

Check with ABS, Select Sires, etc. They may have route salesmen in your area and shoulod know of folks that AI. Are there any dairys left around there? If so you could check with them

I know there is someone who works through that area I just can't find his card. Other places to try. The WSU experiment station there in Puyallup. Dr. Joe Harrison use to be the dairy guy with them he might still have contacts for you. The Enumclaw saleyard, ask for Ron. The Chehalis Livestock Market, (360)748-3191. Almost any of the dairies in the area. I know they are all gone around Puyallup but there are still a bunch up around Buckley and Enumclaw. I just found a number for ABS in Chehalis (360)736-5252. I don't know if it is current but those are some places to start.

thanks for the numbers Dave, I think that will give me a great place to start. :D

my cow is driving me nuts mooing all night, she really wants to bred