I got questions

Help Support CattleToday:

partimer

Reaction score
Does anyone else leave their bull with the cows year round or is it just me? I'm a little new to this but I'm learning. Trying to figure all this stuff out. I wish I just had a yearly calendar that said what to do when. Also, when should I sell my calves?

I leave the bull in year round. Sell the calves when they're 6-8 months old, weaning time. That's how I do it, but I'm a small timer. Works for me. Bunch a big timers on here'll tell you different.

You are going to here all kinds of right and wrong and there isn't right or wrong. It is what fits your management the best. Some run them year around some for a spring season and some for a fall season.

I appreciate the replys. I'm also a small timer. How often do I worm and vaccinate? And what exactly do I use for vaccinations. I have wormed some with the pour on wormer.

Pour on wormer is good. Once or twice a year. Check with your local vet or local cattlemen on vaccines.
Sounds like you just need to make the aquaintence of some local cattlemen and get advisement from them. They'll be glad to help. :D

It also might help if you post your location on your profile so it shows up under your name when you post. Might be some folks near you on the board who can give you a little more specific advice for your area.

I have calves year around mainly because I have no place to keep my bull seperate from the cows. Use a pour-on wormer twice a year and I do not vacc my feeders because I dont keep them and would not get my money back when I sell them. I do vacc the feeders that I keep for replacements.

I also run my bull year 'round. Pull the calves I"m going to take to the auction at approx. 500 lbs. But I will suggest that I'm not proud of all the breeding he was doing 9 months ago! This has been the crappiest winter here I can remember.