how to tag/vaccinate a few calves? (technique)

Help Support CattleToday:

pdubdo

Reaction score
Lord willing, I'll have 3 calves on the ground between late February and end of March/early April. I'm a newbie so when it comes to vaccinating them, how do you do it? I have a bare bones working pen with a headgate. Heifer moms are pretty calm (so far-I'm ready for them to get more aggressive as mommas) and come to feed easily. Do I 1) attempt to rope them, have someone run (calm) interference and vaccinate/tag them on the ground? 2) try and separate them in the pen-moms inside calves outside?...3) a better plan that I don't know about yet? Planning on attempting this at about 4-6 weeks old. Appreciate any wisdom/advice!

I would bring them all in the pen with the feed sack that they follow easily and then sort the mothers out of the pen and then catch the babies in the headgate and give the shots.

Are you familiar giving shots at all? The vaccines I've used have been subcutaneous so it is a pretty easy shot to give, just follow the label.

4-6 weeks old seems pretty young to me though, they will definitely be easier to catch but my understanding is that they are still getting their immunity from the mother at that age. I usually give shots around 3 months old and then booster as indicated by the label.

jschoolcraft86 said:
I would bring them all in the pen with the feed sack that they follow easily and then sort the mothers out of the pen and then catch the babies in the headgate and give the shots.

Are you familiar giving shots at all? The vaccines I've used have been subcutaneous so it is a pretty easy shot to give, just follow the label.

4-6 weeks old seems pretty young to me though, they will definitely be easier to catch but my understanding is that they are still getting their immunity from the mother at that age. I usually give shots around 3 months old and then booster as indicated by the label.