How much grain to feed a 4 month old calf who is still nursing?

Help Support CattleToday:

Lovemycow

Reaction score
Hello, I'm curious if anyone has advice to give on how much grain (and maybe what type) to feed a four month old calf who is still nursing? The calf is a Jersey cross bread with a Swiss and he is a big boy already at four months old. He is penned up away from his mama only at night (as I milk her in the a.m.) and he gets free choice hay. We plan on butchering him when the time comes. I've already made him into a steer. Also, if he is grain fed at an early age, will he be ready for butchering sooner (12 months old) vs. later?

You can start feeding grain to any calf at 1% of his body weight. And every 7 days you can increase it IF he is cleaning up everything. Keep GOOD grass hay available 24/7
I feed out a couple each year, but mine are beef calves. I do finish mine at 12-13 months old - but I have no experience with dairy. I know they should marble very well at any age.
I feed whole shell corn with a protein pellet added so that they are getting about 14% protein.
Remember, if you start him on sweet feed (feed with molasses), it is very difficult to get them off of it. Do you have any big farms around that you could buy corn directly from them? Like a pickup load - or they may have a gravity wagon they could deliver to you??
We now buy WSC by the ton and I have a 6-ton bin - but I used to buy a pickup load and hand shoveled/bucketed it into a wooded box we built for it for our daughters 4-H steers.
Buying bag feed is expensive vs bulk.
At 12 months old, your calf will be good to eat, but will he give you as much meat as possible?? I don't have any idea how fast they will grow. Brown Swiss is a pretty meaty animal compared to a Jersey. The younger you can finish him, the more tender he will be.