How much extra grain would it take for a steer to bloat??

Help Support CattleToday:

poultryrancher

Reaction score
Hi,
This is my first year in Steer 4-H and I got my steer a few weeks ago. Everything was going well--the steer is gentling down slowly but surely, and I was slowly increasing his grain consumation to three coffee cans full, like my 4-H leader taught me-- then tonight, my younger brother decided he would "be nice" and feed T-Bone (the steer) two scoops of grain. He never told me, and saw me go outside a couple hours later to give T-Bone his regular dinner--two and a half coffee cans full of grain and a leaf of timothy hay. Only twenty-five minutesafter I fed him did my brother decide to tell me he "fed my cow". I am so frustrated and angry--he is 14 years old--he should know better :mad: . I am also scared--what if my steer (who I just payed $850 for) bloats and dies!? So my question is how much more grain than their used to can bloat them? He *normally* gets 2 1/2 scoops in the morning and 2 1/2 at night-- so a total of 5 scoops. Today, after his two scoop extra dinner, he has had a total of 7 SCOOPS. WILL THAT BLOAT HIM?? I'M SO SCARED I'M GONNA LOSE MY STEER!!:hit :cry2:

poultryrancher":208w0z99 said:
Hi,
This is my first year in Steer 4-H and I got my steer a few weeks ago. Everything was going well--the steer is gentling down slowly but surely, and I was slowly increasing his grain consumation to three coffee cans full, like my 4-H leader taught me-- then tonight, my younger brother decided he would "be nice" and feed T-Bone (the steer) two scoops of grain. He never told me, and saw me go outside a couple hours later to give T-Bone his regular dinner--two and a half coffee cans full of grain and a leaf of timothy hay. Only twenty-five minutesafter I fed him did my brother decide to tell me he "fed my cow". I am so frustrated and angry--he is 14 years old--he should know better :mad: .