How long to tie daily?

Help Support CattleToday:

Kscattle

Reaction score
I'm very new at show steers and this year my 9 year old son wants to show a big steer, my question is, how long "daily" should a steer be tied? The fairs not until august but I want the steer to be dead broke before I let my son show him. I'm a little cautious about his size compared to the steers size anyways. I'm thinking that I can tie him in the morning before I leave for work and my wife can untie him at noon when she comes home for lunch. Or if he'll be ok until I get home at 3:30 in the afternoon? I've done a search but no results for my question.

If he's sound, and gets plenty of room to exercise at night, there's nothing wrong with leaving him tied all day. He does need to get used to being tied for long periods before he gets to a show, but leaving him tied just for the sake of being tied isn't really proving a whole lot - working with him is what will help him handle better for your son. If you're trying to grow hair, then it makes sense to leave him tied somewhere cool - at least in the shade with a fan. Especially in the heat of the day.