How close is she to calving????

Help Support CattleToday:

blackhawk_angel

Reaction score
Hello, Im kinda new to this. Our jersey cow has a long string of mucus hanging. We are wondering how long till she delivers now. We want to watch her close as she is a pet and last year she lost her first calve, the vet was called and had to pull the calf and said that the cow was in full labor but the calf had never moved up into the canal. Her water had broke and everything. Any info is greatly apprciated. Thanks

blackhawk_angel":2n9jxgcq said:
Hello, Im kinda new to this. Our jersey cow has a long string of mucus hanging. We are wondering how long till she delivers now. We want to watch her close as she is a pet and last year she lost her first calve, the vet was called and had to pull the calf and said that the cow was in full labor but the calf had never moved up into the canal. Her water had broke and everything. Any info is greatly apprciated. Thanks

If the mucus is think and kind of sticky she could still be a ways away from calving. If the mucus is watery and thiin she's getting very clost.

dun

I agree with Dun. Open cows in heat can have a discharge too, but I'm sure you know she's pregnant ;-) Some cows will squeeze that mucus out weeks in advance (everytime they lay down). Watch the udder, the tail head, and her behavior.

I've had cows go two weeks after seeing that string of thick mucus, I have one now that put mucus out last tuesday and I think ste could still be almost a week off yet , although I've been known to be wrong.

I've got 2 that started putting out that type of mucus last week, they have about another week or so before they should calve (at least that's how it goes for those 2 particular cows of mine). I have another who will squirt some out up to 3 weeks prior to calving.

Katherine

Some brahman cross cattle will start doing that a month or more in advance.

Beefy":3i55rzbw said: