How bout these Angus bulls?

Help Support CattleToday:

SFFarms

Reaction score
I'm looking to have some of my cows A.I. and i really like these two bulls. I don't know but objective sons appeals to me for some reason. I'm mostly wanting to work in the future having feed efficent herd and i like to implement these two.
I'm new to the A.I. and epd game so any suggestions or extra advice would be great. :D :kid:

http://www.bovine-elite.com/angblkepd.asp?ID=391

http://www.bovine-elite.com/angblkepd.asp?ID=394

The gardiner bulls, are the sires to half my herd and im always pleased with there calves. The SQ Credence is a new bull i've seen and Suzi Q angus seems like a really good program.

So what do you think?

Neither of those two look very efficient according to the EPD's, the SQ would be the better one of the two though. I think I like the looks of the GAR bull better, but until they work out that CCS situation I would be careful about using anything out of the 1680 lines, at least wait till they are determined to be a carrier or not.

If you are looking for efficiency I have found that alot of the B/R bulls are, and they still have the high $ values. GAR Predestined also has some really good overall numbers.

All 3 of those bulls trace back to either 1680 or his MGS 9J9, who's connection has also been questioned - so be very aware of the Curley Calf Syndrome and what your mating to..
To me there are just too many good and in my opinion, much better, "unrelated" bulls out there to take the chance....

Have you heard of any more besides the one calf that didn't have 1680 on both sides of the pedigree, but had 9J9 on both sides?

RD-Sam":3q6lk3lk said:
Have you heard of any more besides the one calf that didn't have 1680 on both sides of the pedigree, but had 9J9 on both sides?

Nope- but until more is known I think I'd prefer to lean in the direction of prudence and caution...
But that said- none of those bulls are of my preference type either....