How about this Bull?

Help Support CattleToday:

By the way, I should point out that we are still on hay here and a good two weeks from putting them on grass. This is after a long winter and yes, he has lice. All the cattle were worked this week. They will look much different in 45 days but if you don't like his look now, you probably won't then. Just wanting to explain the general condition, not try to make an excuse. I'm happy with how he looks given this stage of the game.

I'm far from an expert too. He is long for sure, but at 3+ yrs old I expect a little more. He is not the worst I've seen by any means.

ohiosteve":5xzolrtq said:
I'm far from an expert too. He is long for sure, but at 3+ yrs old I expect a little more. He is not the worst I've seen by any means.

Steve, out of curiosity, more what, pounds? I don't push anything with any hot ration or grain of any kind. They have to make it on straight grass and hay.

I admit I was overly critical. I was just looking for a little more depth and masculinity out of a bull over 3 yrs old. That was my first impression, I'm sure he would look different if you pushed him on feed and I like seeing pictures of bulls on grass only.

Steve,

I just want to reiterate that you didnt upset or offend me at all. I also agree that he could be deeper, especially in his rear girth and I personally wish he had more length of hip. He will look a little sassier come July. 7 months of hay, even good hay, can take the shine off for sure.

inyati13":1ojoyvwl said:
Come on guys. The best Phenotype the world has ever seen is not worth a cup of cold water unless we know his Genotype!!!
An extreme point of view, to say the least.
Unless Genotype is known...then Phenotype is completely useless. Really?
IF you can't even see what is wrong with that statement then just too close minded to discuss logically.