Hot wether and calving

Help Support CattleToday:

aplusmnt

Reaction score
Got a greenhorn question. I am a rookie to most any calving but what experiance I have is during pretty nice weather. Usually Feb-April.

Well I have one bagged up right now and due any time and we been hitting above 100 degrees. Wondering if any special concerns a person should have with calving and with a young calf experiencing his or her first few days in triple digit weather?

you really just watch them as your normally would.as well as watch the cow am calf for signs of heatstress.an watch the calf for scours.sometimes the heat will cause them to scour real bad.

aplusmnt":og4hgw58 said:
Got a greenhorn question. I am a rookie to most any calving but what experiance I have is during pretty nice weather. Usually Feb-April.

Well I have one bagged up right now and due any time and we been hitting above 100 degrees. Wondering if any special concerns a person should have with calving and with a young calf experiencing his or her first few days in triple digit weather?

I'd offer them some shade. Maybe you can put them in a pasture with trees or a barn? We've had them calve in very cold weather and that never caused any problems, but I am concerned about the unusually hot weather we're having. Good luck...

My neighbor has some cows on my place and he had one calve two weeks ago in the 100 degree heat. Saw the calf today and he's doing just fine. My place has lots of creek beds with trees and shade and that's where she keeps him most of the time. Funny thing is the neighbor thought she had calved in the spring and coudn't believe it. I told him he needs to learn how to count. :)

aplusmnt":oimyu8bf said:

Well lets see I have a half a dozen that have hit the ground in the last month and they were dry when they got here.
Its common to be over a 100.

Caustic Burno":ci35epji said:
aplusmnt":ci35epji said: