Hoof Trimming

Help Support CattleToday:

CWT Angus

Reaction score
Hi Everyone-
Can I have your opinions?
We have a small registered Angus herd. I have a 3 year old cow that looks like she needs her hooves trimmed. She occasionally takes a "tender" step- and is on soft ground, especially when she is going down a slope. She has a crack running down the front/outside of each front fhoof. It doesn't appear deep at all. When I checked the underside, all 4 feet look like they have a very overgrown wall. I have also noticed on a few others, even the yearlings that their toes look a bit long.

I thought hoof trimming was only for show cattle & dairies, but I am new at this cow/calf thing so that could be my mistake. Am I crazy to think that they need to be trimmed?
Help!

Wendy

If you want advice on hoof trimming - you really need to ask Medic24. He has a very interesting play by play of trimming his cattle. Medic - did you publish that story yet?

We trim most the herd every couple years. Some never need trimmed and some need it every time. Have a good relationship with the hoof trimmer. He sets up his tilt table at the end of our run. We bring the grill, CHB steaks and the chilled beverage and make a day of it.

cherokeeruby":1826hmwg said:
I have strong opinion on hoof trimming, but I guess I will refrain from voicing them.

:mad:

Common Ruby, bring it on!! Need a good argument some where other than the R-Calf board ;-)

my son and his friends recently built a hydrolic hoof trimming table in thier ag mech class, they built it for a local guy here that apparently does a pretty good business triming hooves, dont know much about trimmin hooves, but was very impressed by thier work.....they did well in Houston and really well at our local show..