Hereford no epds on yearling bulls

Help Support CattleToday:

ccr

ranch hand
Reaction score
Been looking at a couple of yearling Hereford bulls and the seller gave me their registration number to look up. The American Hereford Association's (AHA) website list these bulls, but they do not show any epd's. I used an average from the epd's from the sire and dam for each animal to estimate these yearlings epd's.

I think simmental (ASA) and red angus (RAAA) shows epd's of yearling cattle and the ASA even will show estimated matings epd's.

Is it normal for the AHA to not show epd's of registered yearling cattle?

Thanks, I'm looking for a bull and still learning about the different associations.

I am new to the Hereford scene, and don't know the details. With Angus, I believe that some performance information like BW, WW, etc ,has to be submitted before EPD's are shown, or possibly a genomic profile will yield some EPD's.
I was pretty frustrated a while back about our Hereford bull. We bought him at a sale and from the auction block he was said to have calving ease EPD's, and when we got his registration paper there was none on it. In their defense I think they were looking at the sires EPD's that were listed and not his individual numbers.

I'm wondering do these breeders sure enough get birthweight, weaning weight, and yearling weight (using a scale).

Isn't this required to register an animal?

Apparently its not required, it was my understanding that Herefords did require genetic testing in order to be registered but now I'm not sure. I haven't registered any yet so I haven't looked into the details.

ccr said:
Been looking at a couple of yearling Hereford bulls and the seller gave me their registration number to look up. The American Hereford Association's (AHA) website list these bulls, but they do not show any epd's. I used an average from the epd's from the sire and dam for each animal to estimate these yearlings epd's.