Hereford bulls on those black cows $$$$$$$$$

Help Support CattleToday:

I can tell you for sure. Commercial cattlemen with Black Angus cows are out to make a profit. If there would be more profit in breeding those cows to Hereford bulls they would ALL be doing it. Figure it out.

i AM NEW AT THIS, COULD YOU TELL ME IF YOU HAVE A HEREFORD BULL AND CROSS WITH A BLACK ANGUS WHAT COLOR WOULD THE CALF BE?
ALSO WHAT IS A BLACK BALDY ? WHAT IS A REPLACEMENT HEIFER? WHAT IS A HETEROSIS?
i HOPE THIS ISN'T TOO MANY ? i HAVE LEARNED A lOT FROM THIS WEB SITE WANT TO THANK ALL OF YOU FOR THE INFO.!!!!!!!!!
THANKS CHARLENE

kypops":2ezhhs8v said:
i AM NEW AT THIS, COULD YOU TELL ME IF YOU HAVE A HEREFORD BULL AND CROSS WITH A BLACK ANGUS WHAT COLOR WOULD THE CALF BE?
ALSO WHAT IS A BLACK BALDY ? WHAT IS A REPLACEMENT HEIFER? WHAT IS A HETEROSIS?
i HOPE THIS ISN'T TOO MANY ? i HAVE LEARNED A lOT FROM THIS WEB SITE WANT TO THANK ALL OF YOU FOR THE INFO.!!!!!!!!!
THANKS CHARLENE

Just hit caps lock once and everything you type will be much easier readible.

The calf should be black unless the angus carries the red factor, if the angus carries the red factor 50% of the calves will be black

A black baldie in the true sense of the word is the first cross between a hereford and a black angus

A replacement heifer is a heifer retained for breeding purposes.

Heterosis is hybrid vigour. The resultant offspring of two different pure breeds should perform at a level higher than either parent, this higher performance is called hybrid vigour or heterosis.

mnmtranching":c2wrhqwu said:
I can tell you for sure. Commercial cattlemen with Black Angus cows are out to make a profit. If there would be more profit in breeding those cows to Hereford bulls they would ALL be doing it. Figure it out.