heifer's first calf low weaning weight part 2

Help Support CattleToday:

cypressfarms

Reaction score
Last year I shared some information dealing with heifers calving. From my information, albeit a very limited study, I have found that heifers do not wean calves nearly as heavy as other cows on their 2nd calf or more. 2008 proved to be the same. Here's some info:

-When I refer to weaning weight, I mean 205 day weight adjusted.

-All cows in the herd examined were bred by the same bull (30 cows - but the number has fluctuated slightly), an Angus plus bull. The cows in question are all commerical brangus and beefmaster. I have been studying this trait since 2005.

-The first time calfers (heifers) weaned calves well below the herd average. This held true for every year for every heifer. For 2008, this was 60 lbs below the herd average.

-The same cows that weaned low weight calves, have gone on to wean calves that are close to the average or better on their second calf and beyond.

- All calves born to the heifers were reasonably sized. Another words, the calves had by these heifers were of average birth size compared to the other older cows. The calves that these heifers raised just didn't give a weaning weight close to the older cows.

-We did have one heifer in 2008 that weaned a calf a full 200 pounds above the whole herd average! However, she did not rebreed :cry2: so for 2009 she is open. This cow is the only cow that did not follow suit with first calvers weaning calves much lower than older cows. She was the oddball that put so much energy to raising the calf that she couldn't rebreed. And her BCS was a 6 at calving, she was not skinny by any means.

I can provide more details if anyone is interested. I'm come to some conclusions in the three years that I've studied this trait:

1. Bred heifers, while costing as much to upkeep as a normal cow, contribute $50 to $100 less gross revenue than a cow (on her 2nd calf or more).