Heifer sale prices; HELP*

Help Support CattleToday:

Mikaelad033

Reaction score
Hello! I'm new to dairy cattle (I show in 4-H) and I am planning to sell my yearling, ready to be bred, Holstein heifer. I paid 500 for her as a bottle baby. I not sure how much to ask for her. I was thinking asking around 1000$ would be reasonable. She is very sweet, halter broken, and does great in shows. I'm located in the Pacific Northwest of the US. Any help and suggestions are highly appreciated!
Thanks!

~M

$1125 - 1200+ in Minnesota if she is fancy
good quality open holstein heifers from A.I. breeding 750 - 800 lbs x $1.50 lb = $1,125 - 1200

Minnesota
297 Springing hols. heifers sold in late June with the top 250 of the 297 averaging $1950
top $2,300
top 50 averaged $2,100
top 200 averaged $2,000

815 lb open and breedable holstein heifers 1.47 = 1190

In my area of the country, (this is dairy country), she would bring 1000 to 1400. If you are a youth in 4H, and you were to bring her to the dairy sale here, they would let you show her in the ring, and announce that she was your 4H project and a show heifer. Those guys would bid her up bigtime and she would bring possibly 2000 to 2500 just because these local dairy guys like to reward kids that will show dairy heifers and they appreciate it. So you need to take advantage of this possibility and make sure that they know you showed her and your a kid and hopefully they will see the need for helping you out!
I watched one 15 year old girl selling her halter trained, holstein bull she raised on a bottle as her ag project, they bid like crazy way more than he was worth. After all the bidding was over, and they were getting the high bidder's name, he told the auctioneer that he was NOT paying the winning bid of $1200 for the bull, instead he wanted to pay $1400. I thought that was really nice.

Mikaelad033":29lmbugx said: