Heads up on fence materials.

Help Support CattleToday:

callmefence

Keyboard cowboy
Reaction score
Steel prices have been at a decade low. Looks that is about to change. I talked to a supplier this morning. Was told his restock price on wire and tpost was already up about 10% and its expected to continue to climb. I'm going to spend some money today. If you've got a big project , you might want to consider getting your steel now.

Is it me, or have they never changed since steel prices bottomed out? Seems like I've been paying the same for the last 8 years I've been re-fencing the farm, both posts and wire. Guess it could have dropped a couple bucks and I didn't notice it.
Thanks for the heads up.

Thanks for the heads up!!
I'm still buying mostly utility poles for corners tho. Surprised they are still just $.50/ft in Houston and they'll cut 'em any length ya want. Them creosoted posts don't weld too good tho.

Thanks I just bought some fencing panels and high tensile wire so im glad I did ... I hope steel prices do go up I got a ton of scrap to sell lol

Kinda makes me want to buy some fencing for another pasture but i dont know if/when it will get fenced and dont really want to spend the money just to have it sitting around the barn

ez14":2jb28233 said:
Kinda makes me want to buy some fencing for another pasture but i dont know if/when it will get fenced and dont really want to spend the money just to have it sitting around the barn

I would buy it and hold onto it because if you wait you will just pay more later and I look at it as im going to be fooling with cattle so im sure I will use it eventually.

skyhightree1":1i0bntxk said:
Thanks I just bought some fencing panels and high tensile wire so im glad I did ... I hope steel prices do go up I got a ton of scrap to sell lol

Yeah, I need to get rid of some of my 'shabby chic/collectible ' stuff too.

greybeard":1mdh1qni said:
skyhightree1":1mdh1qni said: