Hay vs. Silage

Help Support CattleToday:

lead_dog

Reaction score
I need to feed 15 beef cows for 2 months in a confined area before I put them on pasture. Hay is tough to come by and is expensive, but a neighbor has a source for corn silage, which he said the cows would prefer and that it was fine for them nutritionally. I'm new to this and am looking for opinions if this is ok until the ryegrass comes up in the pasture.

The Corn Silage sounds like good stuff, probably lots of calories. I've been hauling Coastal Bermuda hay through there to East Tennessee 23 rolls per load, $65.00 each.... How much is the Corn Silage going for?

The only drawbacks I see is storage and having to feed everyday. That's assuming you have bunks that will work for silage feeding.
If the silage is much better then the cows actaully need you may need hay just to lower the feed value of the silage.

Go ahead and feed it. Up until this year I have always fed corn silage with hay or haylage. This makes one of the best winter feeds for stock cows there is.

yes you can feed the corn silage to the cows.but you do need to feed them some hay with it.

I don't know what Your situation is?

Corn silage is great feed, lots of difference in quality. On good corn silage the grain is 80% of the nutrients. For instance Sweet Corn silage is cheap but little grain, drought stressed corn is not so good. It will all work, but needs to be supplemented. All corn silage should be supplemented with a protein/vitamin source.

And it spoils easily. After exposed to air should be feed within a few days. Best if feed from its storage to the cows daily.

Feeding corn silage in a bunk is best but I do know a guy who feeds it on the ground. He took the beaters off an old manure spreader and just lets the chain push it out as he drives across the field. More waste feeding that way but they do a reasonable job of cleaning it up.

Dave":rzem4yw0 said: