Hay or Pasture ???

Help Support CattleToday:

Nowland Farms

Reaction score
Folks, This is my 1st post to these boards and I need some advise regarding feeding hay or grazing the pasture. I have been watching the post for several weeks now and greatly enjoy the comments. I have learned a lot from "ya'll" already.

I am trying to determine if I should be grazing my cattle on my pasture and feeding hay in the late winter or feed the hay now and then graze the pasture later. I am hoping your experience can assist in making this decision.

Here are the facts:
-Farm located in NE Alabama, which has mild winters.
-I have been raising cattle for 3-4 years
-At this time, I have a 12 head (1 bull, 7 cows, 4 calves & 3 calves due soon)
-Cattle are Angus Registered (9) and Commercial (3)
-Bull and Cows are 3-4 years old; calves are 2-4 months old.
-Pastures are- 15 acres=MaxQ Fescue, 7 acres=Costal Bermuda, 2 acres=general grass (mostly Centiepede)
-Cattle condition is 7 or better
-Cattle get range pellets or sweet feed a few times a week to keep them corral friendly
-Other than free choice Ultralyx Minerals and 40% protein Tub, they get noting else.
-I have plenty of Costal Bermuda hay and MaxQ Fungus free Fescue hay stored in barn

Last year (2004), I sprayed and killed everything in the 15 acre pasture, re-planted with MaxQ Fungus Free Fescue. This grass has done well since we have had a good wet summer. This fall I fertilized the MaxQ and plan to fertilize again around late February or early March.

I need you assistance in determining if I should allow the cows to graze the MaxQ now & supplement with hay -OR- feed them hay now & then turn them into the pasture later in the winter. The MaxQ grass is really holding up well.

Your input will be greatly appreciated. I'm sure I will have more questions. I'm trying to learn all I can.

Thanks

Would it be possible to give them free choice hay now and turn them in the fescue pasture for a few hours each day?