Hay buying approach for the small farm

Help Support CattleToday:

C HOLLAND

Reaction score
I am a small/hobby farmer as some call it.

I need only 60 rolls of hay to maintain the amount of cows I currently own.

I am trying a new approach in buying hay.

I have noticed alot of hay being cut in the last few weeks, so I have stopped by 6 different farms and asked if they would just sell me 6 rolls or any amount they could spare.

Well, I had 2 takers out of 6 today ( 1 for 10 rolls and 1 for 6) and plan to visit another 6 this weeknd. This works out fine for me because I am within 20 miles of all these farms and my trailer will hold 6 rolls and I can pick them up as I go by most of them on my way home from work.

Drastic times call for a better approach or imagination.

I bet you'll be very successful if you catch the guy while he is moving the hay out of the field. Its worth a lot to me not to have to handle it twice. JMO

I know you will do what a guy has to do but be careful of where you buy hay. You can bring in a lot of weeds to your place in the hay. I know I did several years ago. I am about to get them under control.

I know you will do what a guy has to do but be careful of where you buy hay. You can bring in a lot of weeds to your place in the hay. I know I did several years ago. I am about to get them under control.

Jogeephus":1cnv319k said:
I bet you'll be very successful if you catch the guy while he is moving the hay out of the field. Its worth a lot to me not to have to handle it twice. JMO