Got the old bridge re decked

Help Support CattleToday:

BigBear56 said:
Aaron said:
As I have said before, I don't really understand the bridges. Particular in such narrow and shallow channels.

Couple 36" culverts and some riprap and call it good.

I am no expert on the subject but my FIL is. He's installed culvert pipes for many years and he said there is a drastic difference in 1 pipe vs 2 or big culvert vs bridge. I experienced this at my house. Had an 18" culvert pipe in that was constantly being overflowed by the creek. So I put 2 18" culverts in. Got better but didn't solve problem. My FIL said to put in 1 36" pipe. Didn't make sense to me. But it worked. I think it has to do with with the disruption on flow when you force it thru 2 pipes vs 1 or a culvert vs bridge. I'm sure somewhere out there are some formulas for this. I know he measures the ditch size to calculate culvert size.

A single 36" will handle almost double the volume of water that 2-18" will plus won't stop up nearly as easily with sticks and whatever else is in the stream.
The total acreage of the drainage has a lot to do with the flow during a flood also.
There are charts that show area, slope, and ground cover to determine culvert size.
In almost every case a bridge is better.

BigBear56 said:
Aaron said:
As I have said before, I don't really understand the bridges. Particular in such narrow and shallow channels.