Good book/website on calving

Help Support CattleToday:

f4leggin

Reaction score
Hi -

I'm new to cattle (said that one before), and for some stupid reason, even though I had 6 bred cows due in March, I thought I had time to research the whole caving process. Needless to say, we've had 3 (or 4) calfs since Saturday. I really need to understand the birthing process better. What I know so far is that some of my cows dissappeared for a few days to calf (found one right after calving, the other one showed up back in the herd with a calf this afternoon after being gone a few days). What I don't know if the timeline for labor and calving. This afternoon, one cow was visibly in labor, when I looked for a calf coming out, all I saw was a baseball sized membrane looking thing protuding slightly. Within 30 minutes, she was back up walking around.

Here's the really crazy part - she may have calved, and the other missing black cow came back w/o her calf because it's hidden. Bottom in was 1) I have 3 big black cows I can't tell apart 2) One has been missing for a few days, 3) one had a calf Saturday morning. I left this afternoon with 9 black cows, one in labor, and 1 calf (and one brown cow with a calf) - came back 2 hours later, I had 10 black cows, and 2 calfs. I guess I'll know more what's up tomorrow morning (will there be 3 calfs....)

Anyway, I obviously need to do some reading.

TIA - Jill

f4leggin":f6e8u7cp said:
Hi -