Getting cows to eat hay

Help Support CattleToday:

Robert Wayne

Reaction score
Hi, I'm fairly new to cattle raising so here's a question for the pros. I bought some hay and the cows won't hardly touch it. It isn't moldy or dusty. From what I can tell it was probably just a field of dried grass that was baled up (there is no green in the color at all). Is there anything I can do to encourage them to eat it at least as roughage. I talked to the guy who sold it to me and he said "It beats a snowball" but in fact even with snow all over the ground, they are hardly touching it. I put out protein tubs yesterday...

Could this hay have been sprayed with some kind of chemical that is putting the cows off their feed?

rob

HI from another newbie :welcome: I am by no means a pro and I am new here, but I can tell you what I have seen in my limited experience. First a few questions, do they mess up the hay at all? Nose around in it? If they aren't even touching it, I would suspect the hay is bad. Normally they would at least make a mess of it.

What else do they have access to eat? A few years ago I bought some really good hay and put it out for my cows. They would nose around in it but wouldn't eat much. The hay smelled good and was nice a green. It was stored inside from the day it was made. Took me about a week (yeh, I'm that slow) to realize that they had plenty of grass to eat. Sure it was the middle of winter (February at the time), but they went out every day and I never paid attention to it. They were just heading out and finding grass. In the morning and at night they were around the barn, so I didn't even think of it. Point is, if they have access to grass, any kind of grass, they won't eat the hay 99% of the time. But they will at least pull the bale apart and pick out the good stuff. Just based on my experience.

Anything's possible. Tear some of the hay out of the bale and post a picture of it.