Galloway X Angus

Help Support CattleToday:

Jabes0623

Reaction score
I was wondering if you all had any thoughts & or experience with a Belted Galloway X Angus cross as a maternal cross in a terminal operation. It seems to me there would be some real benefits to this cross but I can't find much information on it so clearly people aren't doing it much so maybe I'm wrong.

Also what bull would you breed to? Would a Hereford still produce black baldies or would you get some crazy coat patterns that would get docked big time? Thanks for your input.

One of the nice things about experimenting is you can always put the ones that don't look like you want them to in your own freezer ...

Regarding belted galloway x. black angus x. hereford coat patterns ... I have no experience with that.

Good luck!

I've not seen a lot, but from what I have seen it's hard to hide the belt. It seems to keep popping up, and I assume results in a smaller paycheck unless selling freezer beef.

Belted Galloway x Angus cows make a great momma cow and can wean off big calves. The momma cows are always hold their condition better than straight angus. Also we do not get any dock at the sale barn for belted calves in recent years. I went to sale barn a little while ago, there was a small group of white faced belted steers (assuming simmi x beltie cross) ran in the ring and they brought same price as solid steers at same weight.

As for a Hereford bull breed to a Beltie x Angus cow, you can either expect a black baldy or a belted BWF or just a BWF with partial belt. A non belted cow won't give you any belted calves, only belted or partial belted cow will give you a belted calf. So in reality it's easy to remove a belted gene if you keep any solid calves out of beltie cows and we never have any belted calves out of solid Angus x beltie cows.

I would breed them to either simmental, limousin or charolais for terminal calves.

My experiences in Belted Galloways-