Freemartins

Help Support CattleToday:

A

Anonymous

Are there any ways to tell if your heifer is a freemartin by her outward appreance? I have no background info about my heifer because she was donated to me from a local dairy. I've heard that a large tuft of hair on her vulva can mean she is a freemartin.She has a large white tuft and her belly is pretty big compared to others of her breed that i've seen. Is this a sure way sign to know or is there a test that will show for sure if so is it worth testing her. I was hoping to raise her as a breeder but if shes not going to reproduce then i'll sell her now. Any info will help thanks.

[email protected]

Your vet can do a simple blood test to tell.

On the other hand, Free Martins make great pets, I have given a couple to friends and the reason they make great pets is because they don't come into heat every 18-22 days which means less headaches for everyone.

kat

> Go in and look with an ultrasound
> rectaly to see if she has any
> ovaries

[email protected]

I have read where a quick check can be made by palpating her vagina to see if it is a blind pouch.

> Are there any ways to tell if your
> heifer is a freemartin by her
> outward appreance? I have no
> background info about my heifer
> because she was donated to me from
> a local dairy. I've heard that a
> large tuft of hair on her vulva
> can mean she is a freemartin.She
> has a large white tuft and her
> belly is pretty big compared to
> others of her breed that i've
> seen. Is this a sure way sign to
> know or is there a test that will
> show for sure if so is it worth
> testing her. I was hoping to raise
> her as a breeder but if shes not
> going to reproduce then i'll sell
> her now. Any info will help
> thanks.