Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

lead_dog

Reaction score
Regarding beef cattle, I'm confused if I should be breeding for a specific frame size. I've gathered that a more moderate size (5 or so) may be preferred. I assume this relates to a need for less feed and potentially fewer health problems, particularly with feet.

However, a larger frame size (7 or so) would produce more meat, although more feed would have to be available.

Right now, I have some of each frame size mentioned above, and will need to make breeding decisions in a few months.

As I am pretty new to this, I wanted to get opinions on whether there is a preferred frame size for raising beef cattle. I'm looking forward to learning from your comments.

I voted 6, although, I like the cows to be in the 5-6 range. You will get a lot of different answers, as there is no frame that is perfect for everyone. Depends a lot on your goals.

6 - 6.5. SMall enough to not be gluttons and large enough that the calves will fall into the small large to large medium size. Those are the type of calves that our feeders like.

dun":17heufba said:
6 - 6.5. SMall enough to not be gluttons and large enough that the calves will fall into the small large to large medium size.

That says it best, however a smaller framed animal at say 5 to 6 is great if the are high volume, high capacity with muscle.

I vote 6.5 It works good for me. Frame scores seem to be directed in large part by feedlots. And Dun probably said it best from a cattlemans perspective.

Avalon":9n33lpd6 said:
I vote 6.5 It works good for me. Frame scores seem to be directed in large part by feedlots. And Dun probably said it best from a cattlemans perspective.