Foresight and Final Product

Help Support CattleToday:

GodsCountry

Reaction score
I have a commercial herd of mostly Angus and CharAngusX cows. I have been utlilizing AI for two years. Last year it was only on my heifers. This year I used mostly Woodhill Foresight and Connealy Final Product. My ultimate goal is to breed for an Angus based cow. I have seen some Foresight calves that are really thick. I haven't seen any FP offspring, but the technician suggested FP on some of the CharX cows to bring frame score down. Ideal cow for me is a 5.5-6.0 frame cow and moderate milk. I don't like extremes on milk or YW, they just do not seem to be efficient for me. I've looked over some of Angus' Pathfinder sires and they appear to be either crazy as bats or too big. I get good service from ABS rep and prefer to stay with ABS in the future. Any suggestions on breeding? Should I stick with FP and Foresight or do I need to look in another direction. I sell yearling calves but plan to eventually move towards retained ownership in due time. Carcass traits are not at the top of my list, but I would like to keep some decent carcasses in these cows so I do not have to start from scratch if and when I try retained ownership...thoughts and suggestions are appreciated. :help:

I use Charolais as a terminal cross currently so it is easier to identify AI and bull bred offspring. I plan to breed AI sired cattle to a Simmental or SimmAngus. Thoughts on which bulls to target there for replacements as my program advances?

Look at B/R Destination 928.