Forage based silages

Help Support CattleToday:

capt

Reaction score
Anyone out there have experience with silages other than corn silage. For example, field peas/oat/barley all together or forage sorghum or sudan sorghum hybrid? Any typw of silage that requires less input than corn silage?

I have used wheat, alfalfa, corn, forage sorghum, hybrid sudan and brown midrib (bmr) sorghum. For the cow herd I prefer the hybrid sudan, (less grain). For the feedlot we have used the bmr forage sorghum for the last 6 years.

What do you want to know, or what can you teach me?

Big D,

Thanks for the reply. I have limited experience with corn silage as well as hybrid sudan silage. I am just looking for something that will yeild well, have a consistent uniform emergence under gated pipe irrigation, require less water,etc. My experience with both corn and sudan silage was under sprinkler irrigation in Northeastern CO and I am working with some producers in south cerntral CO to help them become more efficient producers. What do you think of the bmr sorghum silage. There are a few guys that have grown it for hay and like it but have had consistent emergence problems under gated pipe. Any suggestions?

Thanks

My experience with the bmr sorghum has been on center pivot irrigation. I can relate to the emergence problem on gated irrigation, but I can't offer much help there. Here we are mostly on rolling sandy soil with sprinkler irrigation. Our bmr has yielded around 20 ton / acre using around 6 inches of water. I have some friends up north of me that can raise 30 ton, so they say. I have figured that at 20 ton / acre my cost including harvesting is around $12/ ton before ensiling. I use all of it at my own lot and have been pleased overall. The last bmr I planted was called dividend and I liked it less than the other varieties I have used. Sorry I can't be of any help on the emergence issue.

D.

Tried a lot of different silages, always go back to corn silage and alfalfa haylage.