For Seedstock Producers

Help Support CattleToday:

Avalon

Reaction score
This is a question for all the seedstock producers.
The way I see it, breeders in my breed seem to all think that they have no need to casturate many bulls. Pride and or poor selection criteria tells them that "all my bulls are good enough to be working bulls on someone's place". As result I've seen too many inferior bulls from my breed flooding the market. I think it damages the breed. Further, flooding the market just seems to promote the giving away of bulls. What say you?

You would think that eventually that would catch up with them, and they would lose customers. I don't think saying a bunch of negative things about any one breeder really helps you either, if your there trying to sell bulls to the same customers. Selling better bulls should be the goal for the long term breeder.

I'm not a seedstock producer, but I know why so many "inferior" bulls are marketed. It's simply because of the huge demand for cheap bulls.

In today's world it seems as though money is of far greater importance than quality. Through good marketing it is easy to sell quality when there is none. Knowing this, breeders can sell inferior stock and still make more money than running the bull over the scales. To top it off there are more and more people buying that simply don't know squat about what they are getting. I have seen many big name breeders that put on special sales. They put in a few high quality animals, but mostly animals that should have gone to the packers. People buy them simply because they want to brag about where they came from and even the ridiculous price they gave.

At most sales I think at least 50% and probably more of the bulls should have been cut as calves. There is a need for lesser quality bulls but not poor quality bulls.

dun":2jilyd93 said: