Fly Control Ear Tags

Help Support CattleToday:

cnv65stang

Reaction score
I am new to ear tags in general. My cattle all have one Identification Ear Tag in the Females Left Ear and the Males Right Ear. I am wanting to start using Fly Control Ear Tags, but they recommend one in each ear. How do I put a fly control ear tag in each ear and keep my ID tag as well?
Thanks.
David.

Put the id tag in the middle third of the front of the ear. Move out a little ways and install the fly tags in the back of the ears. When you remove the fly tags use a tag remover on the back side of the ear instead of the button side.

About how far should the two tags be separated... an inch or so? Thanks for your help and the quick response...

I have ID tags in all my cattle as well as fly tags. I use two fly tags on each full grown cow and one on the younger cattle. I put the ID tags on the front and the fly tags on the back. I LOVE them! They work really well here in middle TN.

Fly control ear tags do work very well, but please note that if you are watering your cattle out of ponds and those ponds have fish in them, you have the possibility of killing off all of you fish. I know a lot has to do with the size of your ponds and the number of cattle you are running, but just know that it is a possibility!

cnv65stang":18djaggf said:
I am new to ear tags in general. My cattle all have one Identification Ear Tag in the Females Left Ear and the Males Right Ear. I am wanting to start using Fly Control Ear Tags, but they recommend one in each ear. How do I put a fly control ear tag in each ear and keep my ID tag as well?
Thanks.
David.