fitting steers for show

Help Support CattleToday:

luvmymoo

Reaction score
Ive been showing steers for 2 years. My first year I got a lot of help from family members who had showed for years. Well when it came time to clip my steer for the show it turns out things have changed in clipping techniques since they showed.....whoda thunk it??? It was just a local county fair with maybe 15 exhibitors....none of which had any control over thier animals and I did so in the end it did not matter to the judge how my animal was clipped...This year is my last year to show in FFA, as I will be 21 soon, and I am planning on taking calves to an international show that is done in my area. I would love to be able to go to these shows and look like Ive clipped cattle before :cboy: any advice on how to clip steers NOW, not 15 years ago would be greatly appreciated!!!
Thank you!

Don't take as much hair off, use to we clipped the underline real close but seems now you leave more on. Do not pull the tail up in a Ball, just brush it out and trim it.

ps. you can show till you are 21? And be in FFA?

ps. you can show till you are 21? And be in FFA?[/quote said:
here in PA as long as you have your calf before your 21st birthday and you pay your FFA dues, you can still show. I dont know if thats the rules for PA or the local fair I show at or FFA in general....but thats what I was told this year before I bought my steer!

luvmymoo":2aze666g said:
here in PA as long as you have your calf before your 21st birthday and you pay your FFA dues, you can still show. I dont know if thats the rules for PA or the local fair I show at or FFA in general....but thats what I was told this year before I bought my steer!
Lucky y'all! We, like bh, only got till we graduate from high school...then we can only show in opens, down here.

I think here it is like 19. I could not imagine someone showing in county fair with the junior when they are about to graduate College.