First time to show...Heifer shopping.

Help Support CattleToday:

bubchub

Reaction score
Joined FFA this week. I need to find a Brahman heifer that I can show this year. I called on some today. Heifers 1-2 mo. until weaning are $2000-$2500 with some up to $3000. The man did have a 12mo. old heifer he said was born at the wrong time he will sell for $1750. She has been on full feed but has not been worked with on the halter. I s this heifer too old to work with? Do thesev prices seem reasonble? I have no experience with show cattle so I need all the help I can get. This man is a reputable breeder.

Those prices seem pretty decent but like Cowgirl said shop around a bit and see what all you can find. and no a 12month old heifer isn't to old to break i'm breaking one thats 12 months old right now for a friend. The only thing thats diffrent between halter breaking a 6 month old and a 12 month old is weight and how hard they can fight. just keep that in mind also. if you need anything pm me.

Well I'm 6' 3" so I could probably hande her. I just didn't want to get something that would discourage me my first time. I am attempting to find some others.

Keep shopping around. Why a brahman ? Brahman cattle tend not to sell well at the local sale barns. I feel like you cant get into another breed alot cheaper and come out better in the long run. I will be glad to assist you if you need help pm me

i didnt mean to hit submit .. it seems to me that your breeder is trying to sell you a cull or replacement heifer, not a show heifer, for the simple reason that weaning calves are 250 to 750 higher. you have to realize the breeder has more time and money tied up in the older heifer. again pm me if i can help