First time to have puppies....HELP!

Help Support CattleToday:

Taurus

Reaction score
So my female red heeler and my father's shorthaired border collie finally mated yesterday so she is likely soon to be bred. But I am new to raising puppies. Ruby is 3 years old and very loyal to me and it's one time deal for her and Ollie as they will be fixed after the puppies. I know nothing about how to take care of newborn puppies, how to keep them as healthy, how much feed Ruby should recieve for the milk production. Also should we set up an area for her to have puppies in?

taurus, provide ruby with a place to whelp. if she is a house dog, a large box with old blankets will do, if she is a barn dog, provide her with a bale of straw in an out of the way place - then leave everything to her. as far as food; regardless of what the dog food companies promote, any good balanced dry dog food will do with one or two cans of additional food during the week. some people part with the puppies at 4 weeks of age, but we have always kept them a little longer, say 6-8 weeks. call your local small animal vet about puppy shots (very important). just let ruby do what comes naturally and you'll be surprised how easy it goes. up there where you live there shouldn't be any problems finding homes for the puppies, good luck!

First thing is start her on prenatal vitamins, the poeple kind work well. It's handy to have a welping box. Basicly a box with sides a couple of feet high and a 2x6 mounted horizontally on the inside about 4 inches from the floor of the box. Gives the pups an area to lay in that the momma can;t lay on them. We used to start feeding her free choice at about 30 days bred. Have the welping box somplace conveninet but out of the way. Get her used to sleeping in the box so that when she welps she'll be more likely to use it rather then a closet or behind the couch.