first time clearing fence line -any tips?

Help Support CattleToday:

pdubdo

Reaction score
Not too embarrassed to say I'm a total newbie who is learning from scratch on maintaining my new land. Going up to begin working on my overgrown fence lines for the first time (5-10 years of mostly neglect). I'm bringing a chainsaw (w/ safety gear), weed-eater-style brush cutter, pruning shears, and a backpack sprayer. Gonna spray some and clear some. What other tools do I need to throw in the back of my truck? I'm about an hour from home to property. No cattle on the place yet, so fence repair will come later. Any tips appreciated.

Lots of water and bug spray. Good luck.
Forgot to add, make sure you have plenty of extra fuel and oil for the chainsaw, plus a file for sharpening. I always manage hit the fence more than a few times.

If you have a fair amount of small brush and vines that you'll be cutting, a pitchfork works well for gathering it into piles after cutting. And if you'll be alone, keep your phone in your pocket and make sure someone knows where you are, since accidents can happen in a heartbeat when working with a chainsaw.

A good pair of leather gloves and a set of hand pruners. I have found that I use the hand pruners about as much as the hedge clippers and chainsaw. I agree with what the others said about cell phone,bug spray and water.

My wife and I have been doing the same for the past week, don't know where you are but down south we been in a little heat wave. A cooler with ice and Gatorade besides the water cooler comes in real handy. I roll a little ice in a towel and put it behind my neck, works wonders. Also a folding chair is nice for break time to soak up what you 've done and absorb how far you have to go. :) A can of wasp spray and all the above. Enjoy and be careful. A little safety minute before you start to think about how you are gonna go about it won't hurt.

Kingfisher":2ma1xewn said: