Finishing Holstein steers

Help Support CattleToday:

Calhoun Farm

Reaction score
My dad and I have decided to sell our angus cattle and start finishing steers. Several things brought on this decision but mainly the ease of handling and short turn over time. This is a new area for us so I'm looking for advice. Do any of yall have a program you follow in terms of taking 300lb steers to say 700lbs? At the moment we have 8 and will be buying probably 15 more once we finish selling our angus momma cows. Right now we are letting them free range pick grass and feeding a 14% co-op blend developer in the evenings. Roughly around 1% to body weight ratio with plenty of fresh water. Is 6months a rational time frame to sell them?

I'm no expert but have raised some holsteins in the past and have some good friends that finished out a lot of them. In my opinion one of the biggest mistakes made with holstein steers is when people try and put frame on them as you would with colored cattle. They should be on full feed right from the start and then you can get them to 1200 pounds in 12 months but it seems buyers prefer them to around 1400 pounds. You can background them and limit the grain but if you are trying to put finish on them they will end up being 1700 lbs. and be severely discounted - I think they are referred to as 'silage fed'.

A good rule of thumb would be 100 pounds of gain per month when they are on full feed. Also if you are going to turn around and sell them as feeders - buyers will use the term 'calf-fed' meaning they have been on full feed their entire lives. This is desireable since they will finish out in a reasonable time period with out getting so big. And it is easy to pick out when they go through the sale ring.