Finishing heavy on apples

Help Support CattleToday:

bckinghorn

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm rather new to cattle. I am planning on starting up in the spring. I have an abundance of apple trees on my property that I do not use, give them to our horses as treats that's about it. I am wondering about finishing cattle on a apple heavy diet.

Can cows do this? Will it cause any issues from all the sugars? Does anyone know how it will affect the flavour? I know to introduce the apples gradually.

I'm planning on doing grass fed grass finished, but want to experiment a bit and see how the flavour turns out, so 1-2 cows I don't mind trying some eccentric stuff with. I don't use the apples for anything and don't have to purchase them, so I'm not worried about anything economic, just wondering if it is a no no.

I am getting honey bees in the spring as well. I am assuming I will have too much honey to know what to do with (it is a rather popular thing to do in the area) and I won't be able to sell/use it all. Can cows eat honey with no issues? If i have a large amount of excess I may try to feed it to one cow and see how the flavour turns out there as well.

Please let me know if I am being an idiot,

Thanks

You have to be careful with cattle choking on apples. We had one get an apple from a wild tree get stuck in her throat. Vet had to push it down with a stiff piece of plastic tubing. We sometimes run them over in the pasture with the 4 wheeler to break them up.

I'm not sure if too much apple would be an issue. I've heard my grandfather talk of horses and cows getting drunk on green apples.

WFfarm said:
You have to be careful with cattle choking on apples. We had one get an apple from a wild tree get stuck in her throat. Vet had to push it down with a stiff piece of plastic tubing. We sometimes run them over in the pasture with the 4 wheeler to break them up.