Fescue?

Help Support CattleToday:

Jlore

Reaction score
Is fescue grass that you guys and gals talk about sowing in your pasture the same grass that I seeded my lawn with or is there a fescue that is specially made for cows to eat.
If you.couldnt tell by my post I am very new to this fourm and raising steer in general. Thanks for your input!

There are a jillion types of fescue. The typical lawn types are lower groing, i.e. chewings fescue, creeping red fescue, etc. Pasture fescue (which we also use in the lawns because we have the seed from the pastures) is usually Tallfescue like KY31 or one of it's variations.

Agree with bigfoot - the endophyte free varieties *might* be OK for a hay field, but in my experience, if you ever overgraze them or get into a drought situation, they turn 'toes-up'.
KY-31 is iron-clad - but there are some issues with it that necessitate proper maintenance of legumes(clovers, lespedeza, trefoil, etc.) in the stand to dilute out toxic effects.
Most of my farm is now planted with one of the 'novel' endophyte fescue varieties(Max-Q), but it's pricey, and I would never recommend anyone kill out a good established stand of KY-31 to plant it. Starting from a blank slate, as in reclaiming corn/bean ground, yeah - but not killing out an established stand to do it.

I enodrse what Lucky-P said......

However I far prefer a mixed grass and legume pasture....
the more species the better....
good for the livestock and good for the soil....

but this requires managment and managed rotational grazing....