• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

Fencing post 4x4x6

Help Support CattleToday:

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
19,834
Reaction score
59
Location
Free Rent ,VA
Does anyone use 4x4x6 for barb wire fencing posts? I had just bought 50 3-3.5 x 6.5 foot post but then noticed at home depot the 4x4 is 2 dollars cheaper than the 3-3.5' post which would you all use? I dont really see a problem with using the 4x4's personally but let me know what yall think. I will be buyind 150 additional posts.
 

1982vett

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
9,291
Reaction score
63
Location
Central Texas
The 4x4's are going to twist and grow crooked because they are cut from a log. The growth rings are no longer symetrical as they are in a post. I tend to think the 4x4's rot faster also.

If you sill want to use the 4x4's, I'd at least recommend the 7 footers if available. The more you put in the ground the better the fence.
 

novatech

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
4,830
Reaction score
0
Location
Brenham, Texas
Check the tag on the treated post. Some of the treated lumber is not rated for ground contact.
 

Cowdirt

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 25, 2005
Messages
723
Reaction score
0
Location
Mid TN, USA
skyhightree1":1ms6k4bx said:
Does anyone use 4x4x6 for barb wire fencing posts? I had just bought 50 3-3.5 x 6.5 foot post but then noticed at home depot the 4x4 is 2 dollars cheaper than the 3-3.5' post which would you all use? I dont really see a problem with using the 4x4's personally but let me know what yall think. I will be buyind 150 additional posts.

The round creosote posts are my favorite but they are getting harder to find in my area. The local Farmer's Co-op is stocking a brand called "Perfect Post", not creosote, now. They are "sized", same diameter the entire length. The price is rediculously high.
 

talldog

Well-known member
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
749
Reaction score
0
Location
Willard, North Carolina
1982vett":2u7pb5i5 said:
The 4x4's are going to twist and grow crooked because they are cut from a log. The growth rings are no longer symetrical as they are in a post. I tend to think the 4x4's rot faster also.

If you sill want to use the 4x4's, I'd at least recommend the 7 footers if available. The more you put in the ground the better the fence.
Well Said !!! :tiphat:
 

ga. prime

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
3,856
Reaction score
0
Location
So. Cent. Ga.
skyhightree1":1hznt5m4 said:
Does anyone use 4x4x6 for barb wire fencing posts? I had just bought 50 3-3.5 x 6.5 foot post but then noticed at home depot the 4x4 is 2 dollars cheaper than the 3-3.5' post which would you all use? I dont really see a problem with using the 4x4's personally but let me know what yall think. I will be buyind 150 additional posts.
Between those choices I'd use steel T posts.
 

MO_cows

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
2,501
Reaction score
1
Location
outside Kansas City MO
We had to put our corral quick and on the cheap. We used "landscape timbers", which were treated, rounded 4X4X8's for fence posts. They were about $2 each back in the 80's and they lasted over 20 years. Just recently replaced them.
 

novaman

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
1,741
Reaction score
0
Location
North Dakota
ga. prime":38va1zdq said:
skyhightree1":38va1zdq said:
Does anyone use 4x4x6 for barb wire fencing posts? I had just bought 50 3-3.5 x 6.5 foot post but then noticed at home depot the 4x4 is 2 dollars cheaper than the 3-3.5' post which would you all use? I dont really see a problem with using the 4x4's personally but let me know what yall think. I will be buyind 150 additional posts.
Between those choices I'd use steel T posts.
I agree. Wood posts are a pain.
 

BRYANT

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
1,422
Reaction score
5
Location
Okie
novaman":3nmdfh7h said:
Between those choices I'd use steel T posts.
I like T post with 4" pipe corners and streach post 2 3/8 cross pipe but I have a portable welding service so that might not work for others
 
OP
skyhightree1

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
19,834
Reaction score
59
Location
Free Rent ,VA
Thanks for everyones imput. I am not sure what to do because I am putting the post in concrete all the way around the property I think if there treated they should last a good while but I do understand about the grain...hmmm.. not sure what to do.
 

alftn

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
645
Reaction score
0
Location
Tn.
I check the utilities company , the electric co. gives me the old /used line poles, I cut them to 8 foot length and use them as corner and brace post with steel T's inbetween...Works pretty good...
 
OP
skyhightree1

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
19,834
Reaction score
59
Location
Free Rent ,VA
I will do so I think I may use the 4x4's due to major cost difference if I need to replace them in 10 years so be it they served there purpose lol but im gonna talk to manager at agri supply and see what they can do for price
 
OP
skyhightree1

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
19,834
Reaction score
59
Location
Free Rent ,VA
good news for me talked to manager they gave me 3 -3.5" line post for 4 dollars a post and 8"x8' corner post for 639 a post so i bought 200 line post and 45 corner posts cca treated.. they were happy and so was I
 

Jim62

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
1,094
Reaction score
0
Location
Round Top, Texas
If you're setting all posts in concrete, you have to remember that if you need to replace a post, you will be dealing with a chunk of concrete right where you need to dig the hole. Don't ask how I happen to know this. :dunce:
 

alftn

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
645
Reaction score
0
Location
Tn.
Do not set in concrete, waste of you time, use pea gravel around them much better results..It is easy and quick and does a great job...I have packed dirt, mixed and pored concrete, and used pea gravel, gravel is best, will give a update in 20 years, If I live that long...
 

novaman

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
1,741
Reaction score
0
Location
North Dakota
alftn":fy6yt247 said:
Do not set in concrete, waste of you time, use pea gravel around them much better results..It is easy and quick and does a great job...I have packed dirt, mixed and pored concrete, and used pea gravel, gravel is best, will give a update in 20 years, If I live that long...
I was thinking the same thing. I use concrete to set posts for building but not fences.
 

gabby

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 9, 2004
Messages
377
Reaction score
0
Location
Georgia
6 feet long is too short. You can't bury enough post in the ground to make it sturdy.

I heard an old timer say "put your posts 6 inches deeper and they will be twice as strong." That's good advice and I've followed it many times.

2-1/2 feet deep is minimum, 3 feet is much better.

Also, if you have a knot in a 4x4 that's within a foot of the ground line it will probably break if your critters push on it.
 

dun

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
47,334
Reaction score
1
Location
MO Ozarks
gabby":3eniiy5c said:
6 feet long is too short. You can't bury enough post in the ground to make it sturdy.

I heard an old timer say "put your posts 6 inches deeper and they will be twice as strong." That's good advice and I've followed it many times.

2-1/2 feet deep is minimum, 3 feet is much better.

Also, if you have a knot in a 4x4 that's within a foot of the ground line it will probably break if your critters push on it.
I agree with the philosphy but not the practicality. Around here 18 inches is pretty much it for 90% of the posts. The other 10 percent fall into the 12 inches to 3 foot range. We have t-posts that are barely in the gorund up to the bottom of the spade and they're solid. But when you have that 6 inches driven into a crack in the limestone it sure isn;t going anywhere
 

Latest posts

Top